UC Davis Home Page
News & Information

News for Faculty and Staff

Chancellor Katehi elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences


By Andy Fell

Photo: Chancellor Linda P.B. Katehi


Chancellor Linda P. B. Katehi is among 212 newly elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the world’s most prestigious honorary societies.

The academy, which was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and others, comprises distinguished representatives from a broad range of fields. The members contribute to academy studies of science and technology policy, global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities, and education.

“It is a privilege to honor these men and women for their extraordinary individual accomplishments,” academy President Leslie Berlowitz said in a statement.

“The knowledge and expertise of our members give the academy a unique capacity — and responsibility — to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing challenges of the day. We look forward to engaging our new members in this work.”

Katehi is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and serves as a member of numerous national boards and committees.

The sixth chancellor of UC Davis, Katehi has appointments as a professor in the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering and of Women and Gender Studies. Her work on electronic circuit design has led to 19 U.S. patents and about 650 refereed publications.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences class of 2011 also includes 18 other UC faculty members.

With Katehi’s election, UC Davis now counts 14 professors and emeriti as members of the academy.

The class of 2011 includes jazz musician Dave Brubeck, actors Daniel Day-Lewis and Helen Mirren, Nobel Prize-winning author Mario Vargas Llosa and Ford Motor Co. Chief Executive Officer Alan Mulally, among scientists, architects, journalists, poets and others.

Induction of the new class is scheduled for Oct. 1 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Return to the previous page